Tackling Large Tasks: The Elephant

Reflection:
With the demands of family, work and challenging course work for my doctoral program, I was reminded of the large elephant
I often make the mistake of focusing on the big goals and lose sight of the small ones that lead me there. As I grow as a person, mother, daughter, student and educator I appreciate the feedback and support of family, friends and colleagues.
How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. We have all heard it before, but we fail to apply it to our personal lives. This week I was told by a friend to enjoy the bites along the way.
I really needed to hear this, and I will dip mine in chocolate.
Any other advice is welcomed.
This message was especially written for my two AMAZING daughters. I love you and thank you for being my cheerleaders.

  1. #1 by annahebb on June 23, 2012 - 9:10 am

    Melanie,
    I would love for you to visit my wordpress account http://annahebb.wordpress.com/
    I could type a book right now but headed out. I just had to comment. I just finished up a three day class at University of Richmond, and I’m also in the VCU Ed.D in Leadership program. In fact, I just started. I’m a mother of three, work full time, have a high demand job, and yes – I took the plunge to go back to school. It has been one door openning after another.
    My parents live with me in the elder years and I was chatting with them last night about the big elephant. My mom kept saying – Anna, line upon line, one thing at a time. She would take her hand and move it down as if she were pointing to each line on a paper. So you have been told to take one bite at a time. I also want to include chocolate. I include my family in this process when ever possible through chatting about what I’m learning, having lunch together during those all day classes, and studying with my teenager at Panera. When you visit my account I would like for you to see the post Women in Leadership and watch the TED talk from Sheryl Sandberg. This will motivate you. If you google her and find more information about her you will find an article of her trying desparately to seek balance, and she was the keynote speaker at Harvard Business School graduation for 2012. MOTIVATING SPEECH ON LEADERSHIP. If you can’t find these things, please let me know ( hebbal@vcu.edu) and I will send you the link. Melanie, sit at the table! That will make more sense after you see the TED talk! One line at a time, one bite at a time ……WITH CHOCOLATE! I sent your post to my mom to show her how wise she truly is and thanked her for her support. My father is a prayer warrior for me – His prayers are a treasure.

    Anna Hebb

    • #2 by melaniekaywyatt on October 29, 2012 - 4:15 pm

      Hi Anna,
      Just checking in on your progress. Hope all is well.
      Melanie

      • #3 by womanofworthmentoringministries on October 31, 2012 - 11:26 am

        Hello Melanie,
        Doing well. Writing a lot of papers, learning APA, SPSS, RedCap, and a host of other reading materials. It’s nice you checked on me. How are you? Did you “learn as you go” with SPSS or did you take a class?

  2. #4 by andy wolfenbarger on June 28, 2012 - 4:32 pm

    Melanie,

    Your post reminded me of a study I used for my time management paper. The study noted that people generally prefer to spend time on smaller and more short-term tasks and projects than to do larger more long-term projects. Even when the deadline for those larger projects come due, people still work on the smaller, short-term tasks. This is obviously an example of procrastination.

    The plan for improvement that I proposed for myself, because I’m guilty of this, is to structure time to devote towards those larger, long-term projects. Setting aside an hour, every few days, can really help a person accomplish a big project. Like you said… one bite at a time.

Leave a Reply

