My Art Plunge

My Plunge experience carried me outside my comfort zone. I wanted and needed to embark upon an adventure that did not involve children in public education or children in need. No food bank or homeless shelter for me; I needed a change. It was time for me to engage in a more creative movement to bring the warmth of volunteering and giving to life, support a local agency and have a little fun. That was my mission and I found it. I became a part of the Via Colori of Fredericksburg group to support a nonprofit agency, The Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center. Yes my non-artistic abilities took me to a new and rewarding adventure, Via Colori.

Please visit my plunge video http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=c0fZf7noOYk

  1. #1 by annahebb on June 26, 2013 - 7:25 am

    Melanie,
    I’m enjoying all the different videos! Your video spoke to my heart! I’m reading a book called Daring Greatly by Brene’ Brown. She shared that often we fear creativity because we compare ourselves to others and feel “not enough”. She challenged the reader to paint, sing, and draw and embrace beauty not “what will be think?” I recently went on an outing with my family to a beautiful lavender farm. We all painted a picture of the fields. Without hesitation, I framed my picture and placed it on the wall to declare beauty, not perfection!
    Anna

Leave a Reply

